California loves finding new ways to punish law-abiding gun owners. Here’s a rundown of all the bills that passed last year and have either taken effect in 2021 or will take effect in the coming years. Know about California’s New Laws in 2021 and beyond.
California’s New Laws Effective in 2021
SB 376 –
Previously, a person did not need a dealer’s license to conduct “infrequent” transfers of firearms. “Infrequent” used to be defined as less than six handgun transactions per calendar year, and for all other firearms, an indefinite number of transactions that were “occasional and without regularity.” The new law expands the definition of “infrequent” to include less than six total transactions per calendar year regardless of the type of firearm, limiting each transaction to no more than 50 total firearms within those transactions.
SB 172 –
This new law authorizes the temporary transfer of a firearm to a person 18 years of age or older without a firearm dealer’s participation under certain circumstances, such as preventing the use of the firearm in an attempted suicide. Additionally, this law broadened the application of criminal storage crimes from “handguns” to “any firearm,” and prohibits a person convicted of a criminal storage offense from owning or possessing a firearm for a period of 10 years.
AB 1297 –
Before, the law permitted law enforcement agencies who issue CCW licenses to charge no more than a $100 one-time registration fee for a new license. The new law removes the $100 cap, allowing them to charge a fee in an amount equal to the reasonable costs of processing the application, issuing the license, and enforcing the license, which is subject to a specific fee schedule that depends on the status of the application. This fee may be increased at a rate not to exceed any increase in the California Consumer Price Index as compiled and reported by the Department of Industrial Relations.
AB 645 –
Previously, the California Department of Justice (“DOJ”) had to develop a written objective test for the issuance of a firearm safety certificate, which is required for the purchase or receipt of a firearm. Now, the written test must also cover the topic of suicide prevention. Likewise, a suicide prevention warning label is now required on all firearm sales from dealers, including packaging and any descriptive materials, as well as requiring each licensed firearms dealer to post a suicide prevention warning statement on their premises.
AB 61 –
Prior law authorized an immediate family member or law enforcement officer to petition a court for a gun violence restraining order (“GVRO”), which allows the court to remove guns from those with a “substantial likelihood” to use them dangerously. This new law expands the prior law by authorizing, under certain circumstances, an employer, a coworker, or an employee or teacher of a secondary or postsecondary school to petition a court for a GVRO. Also, prior law allowed a court to issue a GVRO against a person for one year. This new law expands the time frame that the GVRO is operative, which can now be extended up to five years.
SB 61 –
Prior law prohibited a licensed firearm dealer from selling a firearm to a person under 21 years of age but permitted the sale of a firearm, other than a handgun, to a person 18 years of age or older who had a valid hunting license, was a law enforcement officer, or was an honorably discharged member of the Armed Forces. The new law prohibits the sale of all semiautomatic centerfire rifles to any person under the age of 21, except for a law enforcement officer or an active-duty member of the Armed Forces. Also, beginning July 1, 2021, this law will prohibit a person from making more than one application within any 30-day period to purchase a semiautomatic centerfire rifle. Previously, the 30-day rule applied only to handguns.
AB 893 –
As of January 1, 2021, the law now prohibits the sale of firearms and ammunition at the Del Mar Fairgrounds property in San Diego, California.
California’s New Laws Effective in the Coming Years
AB 2847 –
Starting July 1, 2022, firearms must be manufactured with one micro stamp on the inside that will imprint a marking on each cartridge case subsequently fired, whereas prior law required two micro stamps per firearm. It also will require the removal of three non-compliant handguns from the state roster of sellable handguns for every new compliant model added to the list.
AB 879 –
This new law will go into effect on July 1, 2024, with the remaining provision scheduled to become effective on July 1, 2025. Commencing July 1, 2024, it will be required that all sales of firearm precursor parts (parts typically used to build a functional firearm) be conducted by or processed through a licensed firearm precursor part vendor. Commencing July 1, 2025, the DOJ will be required to electronically approve the purchase or transfer of all firearm precursor parts through a licensed firearm precursor part vendor. Additionally, the sale or transfer of firearm precursor parts to prohibited persons or to persons under 21 years of age will be outright banned.
The Effect of these Laws on FFLs
Yes, it’s true that these laws will change how FFLs conduct business, but it’s no reason to not get your FFL. Even with these new changes, there’s still a lot of money to be made in this business in California. Let FFL123’s guides help you get the FFL you deserve. There’s no risk with our 150% money-back guarantee!